2018 MLK Individual Leadership Award Nominees

The Individual Leadership Award recognizes people in our community who have made significant accomplishments towards the common good by modeling Dr. King’s inclusive approach to leadership.

Grace Abror Sophomore Biology Major, Washington & Jefferson College
Vernard Alexander The Minority Networking Exchange
Will Allen The Will Allen Foundation
Brigette Bethea Patterson Project Manager, Pittsburgh Public Schools
Robert Bowden FOCUS Pittsburgh
Dr. Quintin Bullock President, CCAC
Aggie Brose Deputy Director, Bloomfield-Garfield Corporation
Devantae Butler President, Reaching New Dreams & Recognizing Talents
Sandra Chile Community Member, Volunteer, Advocate
LaRae Cullens Founder, Dream 2 S.T.E.A.M
Jenna Cramer Vice President of Transformation & Community, Green Building Alliance
Kahlil Darden Founder, Young Black Motivated Kings and Queens (YBMKQ)
Parrish Davenport Executive Director, Family & Friends Initiative of Pittsburgh
John Easter Co-Founder, True T Entertainment
Eric Ewell Community Member, Volunteer, Advocate
Leon Ford Activist
Benoit Kihumbu Foundation Bon Samaritan
Karen Hanchett Acting Education Manager, August Wilson Center for African American Culture
Jason Landau Goodman Executive Director, The Pennsylvania Youth Congress
Summer Lee Braddock Community Member, Volunteer, Advocate
Rev. Shanea D. Leonard Judah Fellowship Christian Church
Walter Lewis Director, Office of Education, Homewood Children’s Village
Kevin McNair 1Nation Mentoring
Rev. Renee McKenzie, Ph.D Church of the Advocate
George Moses Outreach & Enrollment Specialist, East Liberty Family Health Care Center
Kheir Mugwaneza Program Manager, Allegheny Health Network, Center for Inclusion Health
Barbara Murock Board Member, Bhutanese Community Association of Pittsburgh
Emiola Jay Oriola Associate Director, INVESTING NOW, University of Pittsburgh
Jennifer Rafanan-Kennedy Executive Director, Pittsburgh UNITED
Christy Pendarvis Mission from Mars
Eric Saferstein Founder, Artificially Generated Stampede Awareness Foundation
Shawn Taylor Senior Crew Leader, Landforce
Dr. John Wilds Center for Health Equity, University of Pittsburgh
Louis Zygmuncik Founder, Keystone State Wrestling Alliance